Writing software sold as a one-time purchase includes Scrivener, Vellum, Atticus, Papyrus Author, Storyist, Penpoint and Deckle. Dabble, Plottr, Campfire, Novelcrafter, LivingWriter, Ulysses and Microsoft 365 are subscriptions, and several of them also sell a lifetime plan. "One-time" does not always mean every future version is included, so check the upgrade terms.
Every fact below comes from the vendor's own site or app store listing, read on 2026-10-20. Prices are US list prices before tax, as of October 2026. This is Deckle's site, and Deckle is one of the one-time apps, so its section is marked as ours. No ranking is offered.
Which writing software is a one-time purchase?
These apps are sold for a single payment, with no subscription needed to keep using them.
| App | What it is | Platforms | Price (as of October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivener | Writing and organising, with Compile for output | Mac, Windows, iOS | $59.99 Mac or Windows; $23.99 iOS; $37.95 crossgrade to the second desktop platform |
| Vellum | Book formatting only | Mac only (macOS 13+) | $199.99 Ebooks; $249.99 Press |
| Atticus | Writing and formatting in one | Windows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook, browser | $147 |
| Papyrus Author 12 | Writing, plotting, style check, book design | Windows, Mac | $349 |
| Storyist | Writing, planning and formatting | Mac, iOS/iPadOS | $59 Mac; $19 iOS (Storyist store) |
| Penpoint | Drafting and worldbuilding | Windows, Mac, Linux | $40 |
| bibisco Supporters Edition | Novel planning and writing | Windows, Mac, Linux | $69 (a free Community Edition also exists) |
| Deckle (ours) | Writing and formatting in one | Windows, Mac, Linux | One-time purchase |
| Office Home 2024 (Word) | General word processor | 1 PC or Mac | $179.99 |
Scrivener and Vellum do different jobs. Scrivener is for drafting and organising a manuscript, and Vellum formats a finished one into ebook and print files. Many authors use both, which is the subject of Scrivener vs Vellum.
What does "one-time" include?
A one-time price buys a licence, but vendors differ on what happens at the next major version. Here is each vendor's policy in its own words.
| App | Updates | Major new versions | Devices |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivener | "All minor updates are free" | "we occasionally release more major updates that are paid-for" | One platform per licence; a "household" licence |
| Vellum | "Updates to Vellum are free." | "you will not need to pay for updated versions of the software" (optional add-ons may cost extra) | A second computer you own, via Restore |
| Atticus | "all future updates at no additional cost!" | Covered by the same line | Not stated on the homepage |
| Penpoint | "Every update to the version you buy is free." | "an optional, discounted upgrade", and your copy "keeps working regardless" | Windows, Mac and Linux under one licence |
| bibisco Supporters | "2 years of free updates" | After two years, "upgrades are available at a 50% discount" | Personal and family use |
| Storyist | "No subscription required" | The Mac App Store lists a $29.99 upgrade alongside the $59.99 Standard price | Not stated |
| Papyrus Author 12 | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | "up to three personal devices" |
| Office Home 2024 | Not stated on the compare page | "there are no upgrade options" | 1 PC or Mac |
| Deckle (ours) | "every update included" | Covered by the same line | Any two devices, any mix of Windows, Mac and Linux |
Three details in the vendors' own wording change the real cost:
- Scrivener charges per platform. Its FAQ says "Each licence we sell covers only one platform." A Mac licence does not cover Windows, and iOS is sold separately.
- Vellum prices its tiers separately. Moving from Ebooks to Press after the first 30 days costs $69.99.
- bibisco is the only vendor that time-limits free updates. Its two-year window is stated on the download page.
Which writing apps are subscriptions?
These apps charge monthly or yearly to keep using them. Several also offer a lifetime plan, which is a one-time payment at a higher price.
| App | What it is | Subscription price (as of October 2026) | Lifetime option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dabble | Cloud-synced writing and plotting | Writer $15, Author $23, Bestseller $39 per month, billed annually | $699 Lifetime Author; $899 Lifetime Bestseller |
| Plottr | Visual outlining and series bible | $60/yr; Pro $9.99/mo or $99/yr | $150; Pro $599 |
| Campfire Writing | Worldbuilding modules plus writing | Standard $12/mo or $99/yr (against $19 and $160 for the 18 modules bought singly) | Standard Lifetime $336 |
| Novelcrafter | Planning, Codex and writing, with optional AI | $4, $8, $14 or $20 per month | None listed |
| LivingWriter | Cloud writing and plotting | Subscription; prices not readable on the vendor page | None found |
| Ulysses | Markdown writing for Mac, iPad and iPhone | $39.99/yr or $5.99/mo | The App Store lists a $199.99 "Perpetual License" |
| Microsoft 365 (Word) | General word processor | Personal $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr; Family $12.99/mo or $129.99/yr | Office Home 2024, $179.99 (see above) |
Microsoft sells Word both ways. Its plan comparison lists Office Home 2024 at $179.99 once for one PC or Mac, and its FAQ says the one-time version has no upgrade options, so the next major release costs full price again.
Two subscription vendors state what happens to your work if you stop paying. Dabble says your work stays "readable and exportable forever", in what its help calls "a free, read-only state" (as of October 2026). Novelcrafter keeps read-only access and export after you cancel.
Free and freemium writing software
Some writing and formatting tools cost nothing, or have a free core with paid extras.
| App | Model | What is free (as of October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Manuskript | Free, open source (GPL-3.0) | Everything |
| yWriter | Free on Windows | The Windows app |
| bibisco | Freemium | Community Edition; Supporters is $69 once |
| Obsidian | Freemium | The core app, "Free without limits"; Sync and Publish are paid |
| Reedsy Studio | Freemium, web only | The core writing and formatting app; add-ons from $4.99/mo |
| Novlr | Freemium, web only | 2 projects; paid plans billed yearly; $499 lifetime |
| Kindle Create | Free | Formatting for KDP (KPF and EPUB) |
| Draft2Digital formatter | Free, in the browser | EPUB and paperback PDF |
Free tools usually do one stage of the job. Kindle Create and the Draft2Digital formatter format a finished manuscript. Draft2Digital's FAQ says its layout tools are free "even without ebook distribution", while publishing through it carries a one-time $20 activation fee. Manuskript needs pandoc and LaTeX for PDF output. The Vellum alternatives page covers the formatting tools in more depth.
What writing software costs over three years
Totals below are built only from the list prices above, for one person, with no discounts or taxes. Subscriptions are multiplied out over three years at the price shown. One-time prices assume no paid upgrade lands in that time.
| App and plan | Price model | Cost over three years |
|---|---|---|
| Penpoint | One-time | $40 |
| Scrivener, one platform | One-time | $59.99 |
| Scrivener, Mac and Windows bundle | One-time | $95.98 |
| Scrivener, Mac and Windows | One-time plus crossgrade | $97.94 |
| bibisco Supporters | One-time (two years of updates) | $69 |
| Atticus | One-time | $147 |
| Office Home 2024 | One-time | $179.99 |
| Vellum Press | One-time | $249.99 |
| Papyrus Author 12 | One-time | $349 |
| Ulysses, yearly | Subscription | $119.97 |
| Plottr, yearly | Subscription | $180 (lifetime is $150) |
| Microsoft 365 Personal, yearly | Subscription | $299.97 |
| Novelcrafter Hobbyist, monthly | Subscription | $288 |
| Campfire Standard, monthly | Subscription | $432 (lifetime is $336) |
| Dabble Writer, billed annually | Subscription | $540 (lifetime is $699) |
| Novelcrafter Specialist, monthly | Subscription | $720 |
The totals do not make the apps equivalent. Vellum only formats, Plottr only outlines, and Dabble, Plottr and Novelcrafter each include cloud or browser access that a desktop-only app does not. Compare what each app does for your book first, then the price model. Deckle is left out of this table because this page does not quote its price.
Where Deckle sits
Deckle is our app, so weigh this section accordingly.
Deckle is a one-time purchase, with every update included. It is not a subscription. One licence covers any two devices, in any mix of Windows, Mac and Linux, and Settings ▸ Account deactivates a machine to free its slot. The same tab checks for updates. The live price is on the Deckle shop.
Settings ▸ Account: licence and updates
Deckle covers drafting and formatting in one desktop app. For writing, it has a Binder, the Outliner (with a Grid View of index cards), Continuous View, a Codex for characters, locations and items, a Timeline, Snapshots, comments, and goals with streaks. For formatting, it has 26 built-in style presets, a live preview, print PDF in 8 trim sizes with bleed, and EPUB targets for Kindle, Apple Books and Kobo. The Kindle target writes an EPUB for KDP to convert, not a KPF file.
A Deckle project is a folder on your own disk. It holds one .deckle SQLite database (all the writing, notes and settings) plus research/ and .deckle-assets/ folders. Nothing is stored on a server, and Deckle has no generative AI, as covered in novel writing software without AI.
What you would give up, compared with the apps above:
- Mobile and web. Deckle has no mobile, iPad or web version. Scrivener, Storyist and Ulysses run on iPhone and iPad.
- Sync and collaboration. Deckle has no built-in cloud sync and no real-time collaboration. Dabble includes sync, and Atticus offers collaboration.
- Trim sizes. Deckle has 8 built-in trim sizes and no custom size. Vellum offers 24.
Try it first. Install Deckle and click Take Deckle for a Spin on the screen Deckle opens to. There is no card, no account and no time limit. It opens a sample novel with every screen open to explore, and you can restyle it and export real EPUB, PDF and DOCX files. New writing is capped at about 500 words, and new documents and imports are blocked.
The wider field of writing apps, whatever their price model, is in best novel writing software.
What do buyers of one-time software get wrong?
- Reading "one-time" as "every version forever". Scrivener says major updates may be paid. bibisco includes two years of updates. Check the upgrade line, not just the price.
- Buying one Scrivener licence for two computers on different systems. A Mac licence does not cover Windows. The crossgrade is $37.95.
- Comparing a monthly price with a one-time price. Multiply the subscription out over the years you expect to use it.
- Forgetting the formatting stage. A drafting app without print PDF or EPUB export still needs a formatter, and that tool has its own price model.
FAQ
Q: Is Scrivener a one-time purchase? A: Yes. Scrivener is $59.99 once for Mac or for Windows, as of October 2026. Minor updates are free, and major new versions may be paid.
Q: What writing software has no subscription? A: Scrivener, Vellum, Atticus, Papyrus Author, Storyist, Penpoint and Deckle are sold once. Manuskript and yWriter are free.
Q: Is Atticus a one-time purchase? A: Yes. Atticus is $147 once, and its homepage says it includes "all future updates at no additional cost!"
Q: Does Vellum charge for updates? A: No. Vellum says "Updates to Vellum are free." Moving from Ebooks to Press after 30 days costs $69.99.
Q: Is Dabble a subscription? A: Yes, billed annually from $15 a month. Dabble also sells lifetime plans at $699 and $899.
Q: Does Plottr have a lifetime licence? A: Yes. The base Plottr lifetime licence is $150, and Plottr Pro lifetime is $599.
Q: Can I buy Microsoft Word without a subscription? A: Yes. Office Home 2024 is $179.99 once for one PC or Mac, and Microsoft says "there are no upgrade options".
Q: Is Ulysses a one-time purchase? A: Ulysses is sold as a subscription at $39.99 a year. Its App Store listing also shows a $199.99 "Perpetual License" in-app purchase.
Sources
One-time vendors (all retrieved 2026-10-20):
- Literature & Latte, Scrivener FAQs, Crossgrading and Scrivener store
- 180g, Vellum and Vellum purchasing help
- Atticus, atticus.io
- Papyrus, Pricing
- Storyist, Storyist store, Storyist for Mac and Mac App Store listing
- Penpoint, penpoint.app
- bibisco, download page
- Literature & Latte's checkout, Paddle price data for the store's products: $59.99 macOS, $59.99 Windows, $95.98 macOS and Windows bundle (US, retrieved 21 October 2026)
Subscription and freemium vendors (all retrieved 2026-10-20):
- Dabble, Pricing
- Dabble, Cancel your subscription (retrieved 21 October 2026): account moves to "a free, read-only state"
- Plottr, Pricing
- Campfire Writing, Pricing: Standard $12 a month as served; $99 a year and $336 lifetime sit on the Annual and Lifetime tabs, which the page builds in the browser from a price table in its own script (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Novelcrafter, Pricing
- LivingWriter, App Store listing
- Ulysses, Pricing and App Store listing
- Microsoft, Compare all Microsoft 365 plans
- Reedsy, Reedsy Studio pricing
- Novlr, Pricing
- Obsidian, Pricing
- Manuskript, homepage
- Spacejock Software, yWriter 7
- Amazon KDP, Kindle Create
- Draft2Digital, FAQ
Scrivener is a trademark of Literature & Latte. Vellum is a trademark of 180g, Kindle Create of Amazon, Word and Microsoft 365 of Microsoft, and Penpoint of Tophat Creative, LLC. Every other product name here belongs to its owner. Deckle is not affiliated with or endorsed by any product named here.