Software 13 min read Updated November 2026

Best Book Formatting Software for Windows

Book formatting software for Windows sorted by need, with each vendor's Windows system requirements, offline status, output files and October 2026 price.

The book formatting software that runs on a Windows PC is Atticus, Kindle Create, Affinity, Adobe InDesign, Microsoft Word, Deckle, and two browser tools, Reedsy Studio and the Draft2Digital formatter. Which one fits depends on four things: your budget, whether you work offline, which stores you publish to, and whether you also want to write in the same app.

Style your PDF for print

No standards body ranks formatting software, so this page sorts the tools by need, with each vendor's own Windows requirements as of October 2026. Vellum is Mac only, and Vellum for Windows: why there isn't one covers that question. For the same tools across every platform, see book formatting software in 2026.

Windows system requirements for book formatting software

Each row comes from the vendor's own page, retrieved 20 October 2026. Where a vendor publishes no figure, the cell says so rather than guessing.

Tool Windows version Processor Memory Disk Other
Kindle Create Windows 10 or later 1.2 GHz minimum, 2 GHz recommended 4 GB minimum, 8 GB recommended not stated free download from KDP
Affinity by Canva Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit x64 with SSE2 4 GB minimum, 8 GB+ recommended 2.5 GB DirectX 10 GPU, 1280x768 display, online once to activate
Microsoft Word (Microsoft 365, home use) Windows 11 1.6 GHz or faster, 2-core 4 GB (2 GB on 32-bit) 4 GB 1280x768 display, DirectX 9 for hardware acceleration
Adobe InDesign see Adobe's requirements page Adobe's page refused retrieval, so no figures are repeated here
Atticus no minimum published installed from Chrome as a web app; older systems may not install it but "it will always work in your browser"
Deckle Windows 10 or 11, 64-bit x86_64 build not stated not stated .msi installer, offline after activation
Reedsy Studio any browser no browser list published; no offline mode
Draft2Digital formatter any browser browser "on any operating system"; needs a connection

Two of these rows surprise people. Microsoft's Microsoft 365 home-use requirements list Windows 11 only. And Atticus has no Windows installer of its own: Atticus's help says "You'll need to use Chrome to do this", then you open app.atticus.io and click Install App.

Free book formatting software for Windows

Four tools cost nothing to format a book on a PC, and each carries a stated limit.

Kindle Create is Amazon's free desktop formatter, for Windows 10 or later. It imports DOC, DOCX or PDF and exports "Kindle Package Format (KPF) and EPUB", with EPUB available for reflowable books only. One project makes the Kindle ebook and the KDP paperback, with page numbers, headers and footers, page spreads and automatic widow and orphan handling. Amazon's feature chart still lists that route as "Pre-release (beta)", as of October 2026. Amazon's Kindle Create help states the limits itself: "Tables, footnotes, lists, and inline images imported from your DOC(X) file cannot currently be edited in Kindle Create", and themes "cannot be edited by the user". It produces no print PDF, so its print output goes to KDP only. Kindle Create suits an author publishing only on Amazon. Authors who outgrow it have a page of their own: Kindle Create alternatives.

The Draft2Digital formatter runs in any Windows browser and is free "even without ebook distribution". Draft2Digital's FAQ says you can "create, convert, and download a pixel-perfect paperback PDF or ebook EPUB file without having to publish through D2D". Print is black and white, perfect-bound paperback, in six trim sizes from 5x8 to 8.5x11 inches, 32 to 1,050 pages. It needs an internet connection and has no writing tools.

Reedsy Studio is a free browser app for writing and formatting, with paid add-ons (Craft $4.99 a month, Outline $7.99 a month, as of October 2026). It exports EPUB 3 and two PDFs: a print-ready version that "removes links and uses CMYK images", and a screen version. Asked whether it works offline, Reedsy's FAQ answers "Currently, no."

Affinity by Canva is free professional page layout for Windows 10 and 11, with a free Canva account. It is described in the page layout section below, because it is design software rather than a manuscript formatter.

Book formatting software for Windows that works offline

Three Windows tools work fully offline once installed: Kindle Create (a desktop app), Affinity, and Deckle. Affinity needs a connection once: "You will need to be online to download and activate your license". After that, "there is no requirement to be online, even with extended offline periods." Word and InDesign are installed desktop apps, but their vendors' pages we read make no offline statement, so this page makes none for them.

Atticus advertises "Work online, offline, in a plane or on a train". Its help centre states the limit in its own words: "you can write while offline and it will sync to the server once you are back online. You do need to be online to import and export files, however." On Windows, that means you can draft offline in Atticus but not produce your EPUB or PDF without a connection.

Reedsy Studio and the Draft2Digital formatter need a connection for everything.

Software to write and format a book on Windows in one app

Three tools here take a book from first draft to finished files on a PC: Atticus, Reedsy Studio and Deckle.

Atticus costs $147 once, "No monthly fees. Forever.", with a 30-day money-back guarantee (as of October 2026). It exports EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and offers 17+ chapter themes, a custom theme builder, 1,500+ fonts, full-bleed images, large print and footnotes. It also has collaboration "for authors, editors, and readers", which Deckle does not have. Atticus lists version history as "Coming Soon" and lists no free trial. Its alternatives are compared in Atticus alternatives.

Reedsy Studio is the free option, with real-time co-authors and editors, and it works only online.

Deckle is our app, so weigh this section accordingly. Deckle is a desktop app for Windows, macOS and Linux. The Windows download is a 64-bit .msi for Windows 10 or 11. A Deckle project is a folder on your own disk: one .deckle database holds the writing, notes and settings, beside research/ and .deckle-assets/ folders. It works offline after activation, and one licence covers two devices in any mix of Windows, Mac and Linux.

For writing, Deckle has a Binder (Draft, Research, Trash), an Outliner with a Grid View of index cards and a List view, and Continuous View. It adds a Codex for characters, locations and items, a Timeline, inline comments, snapshots and Writing Stats. For formatting, it has 26 built-in style presets, 8 trim sizes, bleed, drop caps, small caps, running heads and scene break ornaments. Widow and orphan control is a setting, off by default, and special pages run from Title Page to Also by the Author.

Deckle's print layout settings in Styles, with top, bottom and inner (spine) margins in inches and a note that margins follow the trim size unless overridden. Margins and gutter for the print PDF, set in Styles

It exports EPUB (Generic, Kindle, Apple Books and Kobo targets), a print PDF typeset with Typst, DOCX, Markdown and plain text. It has no generative AI.

Deckle's Export window offering EPUB as a universal e-book, PDF as print-ready, DOCX as a Word document and Academia PDF as PDF/A for a thesis. EPUB, PDF and Word from the same book

Where Deckle is behind on Windows: it has no browser version, so unlike Atticus and Reedsy Studio it cannot run on a Chromebook or a borrowed PC without installing. It offers 8 trim sizes and no custom size. Its print PDF is a standard PDF, not PDF/X-1a. Four tools on this page are free, and Deckle is a paid one-time purchase.

Professional book layout software for Windows: Affinity and InDesign

Affinity and InDesign lay out any printed page by hand. They give the finest typographic control on this page and have no manuscript tools. Affinity's Books panel combines separate documents "as chapters", per Affinity's help on books, but each one is laid out by hand.

Affinity by Canva combines "professional design, photo editing, and page layout" in one free app, with page layout in its Layout studio. It exports PDF with bleed and crop marks, and EPUB. It has Smart Master Pages and shared text styles, and it opens InDesign IDML files and, since the September 2026 update, native INDD files. The old Affinity Publisher 2 still runs, but "these apps won't receive future updates". Affinity's AI tools are image and vector tools that need a paid Canva plan.

Adobe InDesign is the professional standard for page layout, sold by subscription at US$22.99 a month for the single app on an annual plan billed monthly (as of October 2026). It has a Preflight panel that flags missing fonts, low-resolution images and overset text, plus paragraph and character styles, parent pages and automatic chapter numbering. Its 7-day trial "will automatically convert to a paid" membership unless cancelled. It includes generative AI such as Layout-aware Rewrite. Adobe publishes InDesign's Windows requirements on its help site, which refused automated retrieval on 20 October 2026, so check them there before you subscribe.

Choose one of these for an illustrated book, a cookbook or poetry with exact line placement. For a text novel, each chapter becomes a manual layout job.

Can you format a book in Microsoft Word on Windows?

Many Windows authors already own Word, and KDP supports it directly. KDP's paperback and hardcover templates are Word files, offered as "blank templates" with page size and margins set and as "templates with sample content". KDP warns: "Make sure to remove any template sample text from your final manuscript." KDP accepts DOCX for ebooks and for print interiors without bleed.

Word has two limits for book work. It does not save EPUB. And Microsoft's file format reference notes that a saved PDF "might not have a perfect page-to-page correspondence with the original… pages might break at different locations", so check the PDF, not the document, before upload. Microsoft 365 Personal costs $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year, and Office Home 2024 costs $179.99 one-time for one PC or Mac (as of October 2026). KDP's own Word route is covered in KDP formatting software.

Book formatting software for Windows compared

Tool Runs on Windows as Price (October 2026) Offline Print PDF EPUB Writing tools
Kindle Create desktop app free yes no (KPF for KDP print) reflowable only no
Draft2Digital formatter browser free no yes, B&W paperback, 6 trims yes no
Reedsy Studio browser free; add-ons from $4.99/month no yes, print-ready EPUB 3 yes
Affinity by Canva desktop app free with a Canva account yes, after activation yes, bleed and crop marks yes no
Adobe InDesign desktop app $22.99/month, annual plan not stated yes, with Preflight reflowable no
Microsoft Word desktop app $99.99/year or $179.99 one-time not stated saves PDF, no book typesetting claimed no general word processor
Atticus web app installed from Chrome $147 one-time writing yes, import and export no yes yes yes
Deckle desktop app (.msi) one-time purchase yes, after activation yes, Typst yes, 4 store targets yes

Which book formatting software should a Windows author choose?

  • You publish only on Amazon and want to spend nothing: Kindle Create.
  • You want a free paperback PDF and EPUB and are always online: the Draft2Digital formatter, or Reedsy Studio if you also want to write there.
  • You want to design every page by hand: Affinity (free) or InDesign (subscription).
  • You already own Word and publish a plain novel to KDP: Word with KDP's templates, plus a separate EPUB tool.
  • You want to write and format in one app and need a browser or Chromebook option: Atticus.
  • You want to write and format in one desktop app that works fully offline, with separate Kindle, Apple Books and Kobo EPUBs: Deckle.

Whatever makes the file, KDP's rules decide whether it prints. They are listed in KDP print file requirements, and the ebook side is in how to make an EPUB file.

Try Deckle on Windows

Deckle has a free demo. Install Deckle, then click Take Deckle for a Spin on the screen Deckle opens to. It needs no card and no account, and it has no time limit. It opens a sample novel with every screen open to explore, and you can restyle it and export real EPUB, PDF and DOCX files to compare with your current tool. New writing is capped at about 500 words, and new documents and imports are blocked. Deckle itself is a one-time purchase.

FAQ

What is the best book formatting software for Windows?

No authority ranks it, so it depends on the need. Kindle Create and the Draft2Digital formatter are free, Affinity and InDesign give full page layout, and Atticus and Deckle write and format in one app.

Is there free book formatting software for Windows?

Yes. Kindle Create and Affinity are free Windows apps, and Reedsy Studio and the Draft2Digital formatter are free in a browser. Kindle Create makes no print PDF, and Draft2Digital prints black and white only.

Is there a Vellum for Windows?

No. Vellum is Mac only and needs macOS 13 or newer. The Windows options are covered on our Vellum for Windows page.

Does Kindle Create work on Windows 11?

Amazon lists "Windows 10 or later", which includes Windows 11, with 4 GB of memory minimum and 8 GB recommended.

Does Atticus work offline on Windows?

Partly. Atticus's help says you can write offline and it syncs later, but "You do need to be online to import and export files".

Does Affinity Publisher work on Windows?

Affinity by Canva, which replaced Affinity Publisher, runs on 64-bit Windows 10 and 11 and is free with a Canva account.

Can I format a book in Word on Windows?

Yes for KDP, which offers Word templates and accepts DOCX. Word does not save EPUB, and a print interior with bleed must be uploaded as a PDF.

Which book formatting software works without the internet on a PC?

Kindle Create, Affinity after activation, and Deckle after activation. Reedsy Studio and Draft2Digital need a connection, and Atticus needs one to import and export.

Sources

All pages retrieved 2026-10-20.


Prices, requirements and features last checked 20 October 2026. Kindle and Kindle Create are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. Affinity is a trademark of Canva. InDesign is a trademark of Adobe. Microsoft Word is a trademark of Microsoft. Vellum is a trademark of 180g. Scrivener is a trademark of Literature & Latte. Atticus, Reedsy and Draft2Digital are trademarks of their respective owners. Deckle is not affiliated with or endorsed by any product named here.

Try it against your own manuscript

Open the full app with a guided tour, import your Scrivener project, and export a chapter before deciding anything.

$197 once, every update included

Windows, Mac and Linux. 30-day money-back guarantee.